European Commission 2019-2024 – who is who?

All the European Commission portfolio assignments for the period 2019-2024

Newly elected European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen introduced her team of commissioners. The term of the new Commission will start as of 1 November 2019, after the vote of approval of the European Parliament.

Frans Timmermans (S&D, Dutch) Executive Vice-President-designate for the European Green Deal;
Virginius Sinkevičius (Greens/EFA, Lithuanian) Commissioner-designate for Environment and Oceans;
Janus Wojciechowski (ECR, Polish) Commissioner-designate for Agriculture;
Frans Timmermans is Executive Vice President designate for the European Green Deal, one of the six political priorities of von der Leyen’s Presidency and he is also Commissioner-designate for Climate action.

In his first 100 days in office, Timmermans will propose the first European Climate Law to enshrine the 2050 climate-neutrality target into legislation. Moreover, he has to raise ambition of 2030 emission reduction target to at least 50%, up from the 40% currently agreed.

Not-to-be-missed points include the conclusion of negotiations on a modern and simplified Common Agricultural Policy for the post-2020 period and its straightforward implementation, as well as the new initiative for climate culture in Europe – European Climate Pact. This pact brings together regions, municipalities, civil society, industry and schools to design and commit to a set of common pledges to change behaviours across society.

Environment and Oceans Commissioner Sinkevičius will conclude the evaluation of Biodiversity strategy 2020 and will lead the work on a new Biodiversity strategy for 2030. ECN presence in Brussels is key to ease the dialogue with the institutions and push for a new Commission proposal for a framework directive to protect soil.

For more information, please download the official press release: here.